Victim of My Times

I blame computer solitaire
For the ruination of my creative life
And I blame television for the
Ruination of my social life

God made me weak and sedentary.
He gave me a desire for sugar and salt
Obviously He is to blame for my figure
And high blood sugar.

I am a hapless victim of my times
When popcorn is microwaveable
And is already salted and buttered.
When I climb from my recliner to
Retrieve it during the commercial.

There is a doughnut shop 2 blocks
From my house.  It is never ever open.
This creates in me a frustrated need
For pastry, and frustrated needs are the strongest
According to my therapist.

The cards were stacked against me from the start.
I Am fated to grow wide and soft and be maligned
When others who have muscles that
Ache to move, appetites for fish and melon
live their long beautiful lives without effort.

3/3/2009

 

 

Leave a comment